24 Following


love shanghai

Train station in shanghai

Train station in shanghai is one of the four major railway stations in Shanghai, China, the others being Shanghai South Railway Station, Shanghai Hongqiao Railway Station and Shanghai West Railway Station.The station is located on Moling Road, Jing'an District, to the North of the city centre. It is governed by Shanghai Railway Bureau and is one of the most important hubs of the railway network in China.


Shanghai Railway Station is called "The New Railway Station" by locals since it replaced Shanghai North Railway Station (also known as "Old North Railway Station", or "Old North Station" by locals) as the city's main train station in 1987. In the late 80's, the old North Railway Station was inadequate to handle the increasing railway traffic in Shanghai. The government then decided to pull down the Shanghai East (freight) Railway Station and build a new railway station at the same place. On 28 December 1987, the North Railway Station was closed. At the same time, the new Shanghai Railway Station was built and started its operation.


In 2006, some railway lines of the station were moved to the reopened Shanghai South Railway Station, which lessened the increasing pressure of passenger traffic. In August 2006, a decision was made to renovate the aging station and its surrounding area. Many new ticket machines were installed to increase efficiency.In June 2008, in order to co-operate with the opening of World Expo Shanghai 2010, Shanghai Government and Zhabei District carried out a new renovation called the "Shanghai Railway Station North Plaza Comprehensive Transportation Hub Project" with a total investment over 4.1 billion RMB.On May 29, 2010, the renovation was completed. It expanded the north building from 1,000 square meters to 15,560 square meters, refurbished the south building and added a new designed wave-shaped roof over the platform.


In late 2015, rumours of the demolition of the Shanghai Railway Station arose. Many locals had believed this because of the many residential developments and needlessness of the station as there is already the Shanghai Hongqiao Railway Station, Shanghai South Railway Station and the Shanghai West Railway Station. However, this rumour has been rejected by the Shanghai Municipal Government.


Shanghai Railway Station primarily serves north-south and westward locations. It is the terminus of the main Beijing-Shanghai railway line. There are two Z (non stop, deluxe) trains to Taiyuan and Xi'an every day. Most long-haul, non high-speed trains bound for Jiangsu Province, Anhui Province and the North (i.e. destinations north of the Yangzhe River) depart from Shanghai Railway Station. It also offers over 50 highspeed CRH trains to those areas every day.